About the Rainbow Council, BSA

Rainbow Council is headquartered in Morris, Illinois. Rainbow Council, Boy Scouts of America serves the youth and adult volunteers in 3 counties in Illinois. Our mission is to provide character development, citizenship training, and growth in physical, mental and spiritual fitness, to help create the next generation of leaders. Our program opportunities for young men and women ages 6-20 include Cub Scouts, Boy Scouts, Venturing, and Exploring.



Waapi Lenaswa:   Bolingbrook, Plainfield, Shorewood, Romeoville, Lockport, Homer Glen & Joliet

Ishkote:  New Lenox, Mokena, Frankfort, Manhattan, Kankakee County, Morris, Minooka, Channahon, Coal City, Wilmington, Elwood & Gardner 


Rainbow Council Vision Statement

The Rainbow Council, Boy Scouts of America aims to beneficially involve every eligible child and his or her family in the fun and adventure of our programs.

We will provide extraordinary youth development programs that: strengthen values, develop leadership skills, provide lifelong learning and instill the habit of service to others. Rainbow Council l will be widely acknowledged as a community and national leader in serving youth, families and neighborhoods.

This result will be achieved through the partnership of: (1) children and families, (2) strong community organizations, (3) committed, trained volunteers, and (4) districts, board and staff able to align community resources in support of Scouting and Learning for Life. 


Council Leadership

The Rainbow Council is led by an executive board comprised of the council president, council commissioner, approximately 7 vice presidents, no more than 30 members and 2 district chairs.

Council President- Robert Richardson, III
Council Commissioner- Diane Kloepfer
Scout Executive- Ted Karns


Rainbow Council 2017 - 2018
Executive Board


Frank Andreano, Robert Chiszar, Mayor Roger Claar, Bishop R. Daniel Conlon, Wayne Droudt, John Harrington, Bert Jacobson, Mike Engfer, Darrin King, Diane Kloepfer, David Konopko, Rob Koziorowski, Brian Kuntz, Peter March,  Brian McDaniel, Cecilia Mistretta, Jerome Nudera, Randy Petri, Silas Rea, Rob Richardson, Janet Scott, Bob Shroba, James Solari, Mark Steadham, Tom Stoiber, Mike VanMill, Stephen Weber